ru | eng
What is in common between
table tennis and Elbrus?
Elbrus is the highest mountain in Europe
Its west summit stands at 5,642 metres
The most high-altitude table tennis match in human history is going to take place on one of the Elbrus peaks in the end of July - beginning of August, 2009.

Home \ News \ Interview \ Photoalbums

Sergey Jeanovich, You are recognized as the person, infatuated with own affairs. So, how did the idea to play table tennis match on Elbrus appear? What was the real goal of the expedition for You personally – either the desire to promote table tennis to populace or even the greater desire to break the world record?

The idea appeared by pure accident. But it fascinated us and gave the chance to avoid barren spending of our lives. At first, it was not an idea indeed, it was just an adventurous offering. And the great project grew from the offer, which intertwined fates and characters of various people, and we managed to understand ourselves in deeper and better way owing to the project. Own abilities and own nature, own energetics. Besides, team work with people, you did not cooperate before, gives the opportunity to Your soul to get in touch with other souls and discover new levels of development for yourself (and others too) and onward progress. The target of the expedition was the examination of the possibility of the group of simple enthusiasts, not specially selected professionals, to realize something that nobody had ever made. The majority of people thinks that everything great and unusual takes place somewhere else, but not in their lives. Other people make interesting things, but we live a simple existence, and have no real opportunities. So, I wanted to show that it does not act in such way indeed, and we can do everything, and You know, "Where there’s a will there’s a way".

Everything else is offspring tasks. Of course, it also means the development of table tennis in terms of the widening of opportunities of the game. In any age, and in any place. It became the demonstration that Asian sportsmen have not occupied all peaks of the contemporary table tennis yet. And we managed to do it, thus, we can win them at traditional sport grounds?

It was also the demonstration that Slavic nations did not lose own energetics in historical and geo-political aspect. And finally, we have to do something remarkable in our lives.

The first question, appearing in my head, after hearing of such event should be worded as follows "How did You manage to bring tennis table on the peak?" In fact, it is not a racket or a ball, which could be put to Your backpack. What is the weight of the standard table? Fifty, or even sixty kilograms?

The standard tennis table weighs within ranges of 60 - 150 kg, depending on own grade and accessories, and we could not even dream to bring such table at the peak. That is why, the special unique table was worked out and produced for the project, the table can be easily disjointed at 16 parts, we unscrewed and piled table legs too. Every part weighs 1400 g. In fully stowed position, the table is easily housed in the bag with dimensions of 70х40х40. The development and production of the table took nearly three months. We and Alexander Meyerovich, the constructor and manufacturer of the table, passed through all stages of the table production – from choosing of the proper material for the table surface, mounting system for table fragments against each other and table legs, to painting, placement of sponsor logotypes and packaging.

As a result, the table weighs less than 25 kg, it is easily framed and disassembled, it provides rather comfortable playground, and in mounted condition, the table looks like any other standard table for table tennis.

The possibility to produce such table became one of the most key еterm for the successful realization of the project.

It is possible that the commercial-scale production of such tables in the future will allow increasing the number of places fit for playing table tennis.

Did You provided somewhat "test games"? Did You set up the table for a time?

We assembled and completely took down the table two times before the match. We tested it and became convinced that it suits for the game. We did not set up the table for a time, but estimated that 2-4 persons can assemble the table during 5-10 minutes. And the estimation became confirmed at the peak.

The height of over 5 thsd meters is really serious cause.. And You had also to bear such cargo on the back. Were You so self-confident? Did You face the critical moment, when You think about the chance to try realizing the expedition another time, it was Your first climb, pilot climbing, one might say, and the weather also made difficulties.

We were not so much confident in our forces, as followed the appeal of М.Zhvanetsky to "experience troubles as available".

Stas Bondar, Vadim Kotlyar, and Yaroslav Pasechnik provided the additional success confidence, during discussions they expressed the synonymous confidence in success of the project. Only the weather provided some doubts to me, but we had a great luck at the sphere. Of course, the ascend showed that I underestimated difficulties of high locating in the latitude. At the altitude of 5 300 m the group of six participants could not continue the route and turned back, which made the realization of our main task more difficult. Fortunately, only Stas Bondar, who also turned back, had the necessary load. So, I took his backpack, Alexander Shkalikov took mine, and we managed to bring the all necessary weight for the match to the peak. It was very hard for me to mount the last 300 m. I gasped for breath and took rest every two minutes.

Tell about the match itself. What did You feel, when You composed the table, spread out the banner and made the first ball service?

When a person has some business in his life, which requires for his careful attention, he does not put off his attention to anything else, and even does not feel pain at times. While we chose the place, set up the table and prepared for the match, I felt weariness, breathlessness, heaviness of the equipment and etc. But after the beginning of the match, I was engaged to the game and fight to gain a victor. Besides, at the beginning of the match I faced some difficulties – I lose the first set to Viktor Kannynikov, but then the success turned to my side. During the game at the peak, I did not realized that I was playing table tennis at the top of Elbrus. At the moment, it was table tennis only with the capital T for me.

What did the game mean for You? Did the match become the possibility to proof that nothing impossible exists, or You planned to get to the Guinness Book of Records and the CIS book of records?

The successful realization of the match became the special live stage for me. New people entered my life, the group of persons, who feel the same way I do, and I managed to make the common great affair, we fixed the new level in abilities and opportunities of the man. And the Book of Records is the bonus. The main thing of the project means that we did it, we deserved it, and managed to do it. And all the rest became the desired enclosure - less than or equal to.

What are You plans for the future? Do You really plan to play a table tennis match on the Mount Everest?

After returning from Elbrus, I received a lot of offers to play table tennis in various conditions. Including matches on a float in a cave on the surface of underground lake or in the functioning mine, to development of new peaks from Hoverla to Everest. I do not see any qualitative novelty at such offers. And I do not want to turn my life into the collection of single-type records. It does not seem to be interesting for me. The following projects should give me the opportunity to clear up and check myself at the completely other qualitative level. We can only wait and see what it will be. I have some ideas.

Why did it succeed?

Great idea, effective collective, successful preparation (the table, route and etc.), luckiness with weather conditions and associated participants, the mutual support, faith in the success, support of sponsors and assistants.

THAT IS THE RECIPE OF VICTORY!!!

Sponsors and partners

Contacts

Phones:
+ 380 50 3200323
+ 380 562 362070
Email:

ру | eng
Что общего между Эльбрусом
и настольным теннисом?
Эльбрус, высота западной вершины
равна 5642м
Cамый высокогорный матч по настольному теннису в истории человечества состоялся на одной из вершин Эльбруса 31 июля 2009 года.

Главная \ Новости \ Интервью \ Фотоальбомы

Сергей Жанович, Вас знают как человека, страстно увлеченного своим делом. Так как же появилась идея сыграть в настольный теннис на Эльбрусе? Целью этой экспедиции для Вас лично было желание продвигать настольный теннис в массы или больше желание поставить мировой рекорд?

Идея родилась случайно. Но она нас захватила и дала возможность не бессмысленно прожить большой кусок жизни. Вначале это была не идея, а авантюрное предложение. Из этого предложения вырос большой проект, в котором переплелись судьбы и характеры разных людей, благодаря которому мы смогли лучше и глубже понять, прежде всего, себя. Свои способности и возможности, свой характер, свою энергетику. Кроме этого, работа в команде с людьми, с которыми ты до этого не общался, даёт возможность душе соприкоснуться с другими душами и открыть для себя (а , возможно, и для других) новые горизонты развития и движения вперёд. Целью экспедиции было проверить возможность группой, не специально подобранных для решения задач людей, а просто энтузиастов сделать нечто, что до них не делал никто и никогда. Большинство людей считает, что всё великое и необыкновенное происходит где-то, как бы не в их жизни. Это всё делают другие люди, а мы живём простой жизнью и ничего не можем. Так вот, я хотел показать, что это не так, что всё в наших руках, и "Кто хочет, тот может".

Всё остальное - подчинённые задачи. Конечно это развитие настольного тенниса в плане расширения возможностей игры. В любом возрасте и в любом месте. Это демонстрация того, что не все вершины в современном настольном теннисе заняты азиатскими спортсменами. И, если мы смогли это, почему нам не побеждать их на обычных спортивных площадках?

Это и демонстрация того, что славянские народы не потеряли свою энергетику в историческом и гео-политическом аспекте. Ну и в конце концов, надо хоть иногда в жизни сделать нечто незаурядное.

Первый вопрос, который приходит в голову, заслышав о подобном мероприятии: "Как занести на вершину теннисный стол?" Ведь это не ракетка и не шарик, который можно спокойно спрятать в рюкзаке. Сколько весит стандартный стол? Пятьдесят, шестьдесят килограмм?

Стандартный теннисный стол весит от 60 до 150 кг, в зависимости от класса и аксессуаров, занести подобный стол на вершину для нас было нереально. Поэтому был разработан и изготовлен специально для этого проекта уникальный стол, который разбирается на 16 частей, ножки откручиваются и складываются. Каждая часть весит 1 400г. В сложенном состоянии стол размещается в сумку размером 70х40х40. Его разработка и изготовление заняли около трёх месяцев. С конструктором и изготовителем Александром Мееровичем мы прошли все этапы - от выбора подходящего материала для поверхности стола, систем крепления фрагментов между собой и ножек, до покраски, размещения логотипов спонсоров и упаковки.

В итоге стол весил меньше 25 кг, легко собирался и разбирался, на нём было комфортно играть, и в собранном состоянии он выглядел как самый обычный стол для настольного тенниса.

То, что удалось изготовить такой стол - стало одним из ключевых условий успех всего проекта.

Возможно, промышленное изготовление подобных столов в будущем позволит значительно расширить количество мест, пригодных для игры в настольный теннис.

Проводили ли Вы некоего рода "пробные игры"? Собирали ли стол на время?

Стол был собран и разобран полностью перед матчем 2 раза. Мы его опробовали и убедились - что он подходит для игры. На время стол не собирали, но при сборке оценили, что 2-4 человека смогут собрать стол за 5-10 минут. Эта оценка на вершине подтвердилась.

Высота больше пяти тысяч метров уже дело весьма серьезное.. А тут еще груз за спиной нести. Вы настолько были уверенны в своих силах? Был ли критический момент, когда Вы подумывали о том, что может лучше в другой раз попробовать, ведь это было первое восхождение, пробное, так сказать, да и погода не жаловала?

Мы не столько были уверены в своих силах, сколько руководствовались призывом М.Жванецкого "переживать неприятности по мере их поступления". Дополнительную уверенность в успехе создавали Стас Бондар, Вадим Котляр и Ярослав Пасечник, которые не раз в разговорах выражали однозначную уверенность в успехе предприятия. Сомнения у меня вызывала только погода, но здесь нам крупно повезло. Конечно, восхождение показало, что я недооценивал трудности нахождения на высоте в этих широтах. И то, что на высоте 5 300 шестеро участников не могли продолжить путь и повернули назад, несколько затруднило выполнение главной задачи. К счастью, из повернувших назад только Стас Бондар нёс существенный груз. Я взял у него рюкзак, мой перехватил Саша Шкаликов и нам удалось поднять вес, что нужно для игры, на вершину. Последние 300 м дались мне тяжело. Я задыхался и через каждые 2 минуты отдыхал.

Расскажите о самом матче. Что Вы чувствовали, когда собрали стол, развернули баннер и сделали первую подачу?

Когда человек чем-то в жизни занят, что требует его пристального внимания, он больше ни на что не отвлекается, а порой даже не чувствует боли. Пока мы выбирали место, собирали стол и готовились к матчу, я чувствовал усталость, одышку, тяжесть амуниции и т.д. Но когда начался матч - я был поглощен игрой и борьбой за победу. Тем более, что поначалу матч складывался не в мою пользу - я проиграл первый сет Вите Канунникову, но дальше удача была на моей стороне. На вершине во время игры я не чувствовал, что это настольный теннис на вершине Эльбруса. В этот момент для меня это был просто настольный теннис с большой буквы.

Чем для Вас стала эта игра? Возможностью доказать, что нет ничего невозможного или шанс попасть в Книгу рекордов Гинесса и Книгу рекордов СНГ?

Успешное проведение матча стало для меня определённым жизненным этапом. В мою жизнь вошли новые люди, с коллективом единомышленников удалось сделать большое общее дело, установлена новая планка в возможностях и способностях человека. А книга Рекордов + Главное, что ты это сделал, чего ты стоишь, и что ты можешь. А остальное - желательное приложение - не больше.

А какие планы на будущее? Сыграть в настольный теннис на Эвересте?

После возвращения с Эльбруса я получаю массу предложений по игре в настольный теннис в разных условиях. От игры на плоту в пещере на поверхности подземного озера или в действующей шахте, до освоения новых вершин от Говерлы до Эвереста. Я не вижу в этих предложениях качественной новизны. А просто превратить свою жизнь в коллекцию однотипных рекордов я не хочу. Мне не кажется это интересным. Следующие проекты должны дать возможность мне раскрыться и проверить себя совершенно на другом качественном уровне. Что это будет - поживём- увидим. Идеи есть.

Почему, всё- таки, получилось?

Здоровая идея, боеспособный коллектив, успешная подготовка (стол, маршрут и т.д.) везение с погодой и присоединившиеся участники, всеобщая поддержка, вера в успех, участие спонсоров и помощников.

ВОТ РЕЦЕПТ ПОБЕДЫ !!!

Спонсоры и партнёры

Контакты

Телефоны:
+ 380 50 3200323
+ 380 562 362070
Почта: